How do I manage Server Access?

You will only be able to manage server access if your user role has permission to grant & revoke access to servers, review our guide for more information on the different roles and permissions.

Granting Access

First, on the server list, click manage on the server you want to grant access to. Then click the Server Access link in the side menu.

Screenshot showing the sub menu for servers

You will be taken to a page that looks similar to this. If no one currently has access to this server, you will only see the "Grant Access" box.

Screenshot showing the server access page

To grant access, you first need to select either an individual team member or if you have any configured, a group of team members via the drop down menus.

Note: If you select both a group and an individual, it will only process the group selection.

Next, select which server users you want to grant the team member(s) access to. These are checkboxes so check as many as needed. Upon completing the selected team member or every member in the selected group will be given access to every selected server user. If certain team members in a group do not require access to one of the users, bear that in mind. You will need to revoke their access after granting.

Lastly you are able to grant either 24/7 access or apply an access schedule. You can grant them access between certain dates or only on certain days of the week and you can also apply time restrictions.

Screenshot showing the option to grant access between two dates

Screenshot showing the option to grant access for certain days of the week

Screenshot showing the option to grant access between certain times

Being able to grant access on a schedule allows you to do things such as grant access to outside contractors on certain days of the week when they are supposed to be working on your servers. Alternatively, when an employee has handed in their notice period. You can change their access from 24/7 to between two dates so they are automatically removed from a server at the end of their employment. This is handy for those busy periods when you may simply forget to remove the team member from your ServerAuth Team

Once your access schedule has been selected, simply press "Grant Access". The page will refresh and you will the list of team members now with access at the top of the screen and the server users they have access to.

Screenshow showing the team member row now with access

If your server is connected via our basic integration, please allow up to 5 minutes for the agent to run and sync the latest access.

If you server is connected via our advanced integration, the access should be granted within 30 seconds - 1 minute.

Revoking Access

First, on the server list, click manage on the server you want to grant access to. Then click the Server Access link in the side menu.

Screenshot showing the sub menu for servers

You will be taken to a page that looks similar to this. If no one currently has access to this server, you will only see the "Grant Access" box.

Screenshot showing the server access page

Revoke Individual Access

To revoke individual access, find the team member you wish to remove from the server and click their row to expand the details of their access.

Screenshot showing the expanding team member access details

Once expanded, you will be able to see each server user the team member can access and on what schedule they can access that user. Lastly there is the revoke button. Simply press the revoke button for corresponding server user to remove the team members access to that user. Repeat the process if you wish to remove them from numerous server users.

Revoke Group Access

To revoke a whole group, scroll to the bottom of the page. If any of the team members, that currently have access, are in a user group, then a "Revoke Access" box will appear.

Screenshot showing the revoke access form

Simply select the user group you wish to remove and check the server users that you wish to remove the team members from. When ready, click the "Revoke Access" button to start processing.

For revoking both individual and group access if your server is connected via our basic integration, please allow up to 5 minutes for the agent to run and sync the latest access.

If you server is connected via our advanced integration, the access should be revoked within 30 seconds - 1 minute.

ServerAuth
Server Management & SSH Security Software
 on Twitter
Copyright © ServerAuth Ltd
Registered in England No. 13996293
All Rights Reserved.
Solutions
Support
Customers
ServerAuth
The Legal Bits