How can I manage sudo access

You will only be able to manage sudo access if your user role has permission to add & remove server users, review our guide for more information on the different roles and permissions.

Managing existing sudo access

If you have integrated ServerAuth into an existing server that already has users configured with sudo access, ServerAuth is currently unable to manage their access.

If you wish to manage this user via ServerAuth, SSH into your server and remove their access manually. You can then go to the ServerAuth platfrom and add the user via the Server Users tab and grant them sudo access.

How to grant sudo access

First, on the server list, click manage on the server you want to grant sudo access to. Then click the Server Users link in the side menu.

Screenshot showing the sub menu for servers

At the top of the page you will be shown the users currently on the server. If a user already has sudo access they will have a "Sudo User" label.

Screenshow showing the list of users on the server

To grant sudo access, find the user you wish to grant access to and click the 3 dots to the right of the user. This will open up the context menu with options to grant sudo access or delete the user. Click the top option to grant the user sudo access.

Screenshot showing the context menu with the grant sudo access option

You will get a confirmation message saying that access will be granted shortly. A "Sudo User" label will appear next to the selected user along with an "Installing..." label. This label will automatically disappear when sudo access has been fully granted to the user.

Screenshot showing sudo access being granted to the user

How to revoke sudo access

First, on the server list, click manage on the server you want to revoke sudo access from. Then click the Server Users link in the side menu.

Screenshot showing the sub menu for servers

At the top of the page you will be shwon the users currently on the server. If a user already has sudo access they will have a "Sudo User" label.

Screenshow showing the list of users on the server

To revoke sudo access, find the user you wish to revoke access from and click the 3 dots to the right of the user. This will open up the context menu with options to revoke sudo access or delete the user. Click the top option to revoke the user sudo access.

Screenshot showing the context menu with the revoke sudo access option

You will get a confirmation message saying that access will be revoked shortly. The "Sudo User" label will disappear from the selected user and an "Installing..." label will appear. This label will automatically disappear when sudo access has been fully revoked from the user.

Screenshot showing sudo access being revoked to the user

ServerAuth
Server Management & SSH Security Software
 on Twitter
Copyright © ServerAuth Ltd
Registered in England No. 13996293
All Rights Reserved.
Solutions
Support
Customers
ServerAuth
The Legal Bits